Reviews

Get honest, unbiased reviews of plugins, DAWs, software, gear and instruments for your home studio!

Toontrack EZDrummer 2 Review

Toontrack EZDrummer 2 Review

August 10, 2020
First up on my search for the best drum virtual instrument is EZDrummer 2. What did I like and what would
United Plugins Quick AG Review

United Plugins Quick AG Review

August 8, 2020
United Plugins has just released Quick AG, an all-in-one acoustic instrument mixing plugin. Today I’ll decide if it’s a good
MeldaProduction MSuperLooper Review

MeldaProduction MSuperLooper Review

August 5, 2020
Today I’m checking out MSuperLooper, the newest plugin from MeldaProduction. How does this looper plugin stack up against the others?
XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder Review

XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder Review

July 10, 2020
I checked out the new XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder, an emulation of the classic Sennheiser VSM-201. Let’s find out more about
Loopcloud Review

Loopcloud Review

July 5, 2020
I took an in-depth look at Loopcloud, a desktop/web sample browser and DAW plugin suite designed to help producers
MeldaProduction MSoundFactory Review

MeldaProduction MSoundFactory Review

July 1, 2020
Today I’m looking at MSoundFactory by MeldaProduction, a synth and sampler suite that now includes the free Monastery Grand sample
Audified Sphene Pro Review

Audified Sphene Pro Review

June 28, 2020
Audified’s newest addition, Sphene Pro, is a high-gain bass amp sim and distortion pedal. Let’s check it out!
Youlean Loudness Meter Review

Youlean Loudness Meter Review

June 26, 2020
Today we’re getting loud with Youlean Loudness Meter. Let’s review the features of the Free and Pro versions and help
Fuse Audio Labs F-59 Review

Fuse Audio Labs F-59 Review

June 19, 2020
I spent a week playing with Fuse Audio Labs’ F-59 Fender Bassman amp sim. Did Fuse Audio Labs hit another
Fuse Audio Labs VPB Bundle Review

Fuse Audio Labs VPB Bundle Review

June 19, 2020
Fuse Audio Labs has released VPB Bundle, their Virtual Pedal Board plugin, featuring five throwback stomp box emulations. Let’s check
Black Rooster Audio KH-COMP1 Review

Black Rooster Audio KH-COMP1 Review

June 10, 2020
Black Rooster Audio has partnered with multi-platinum mixing engineer Koen Heldens to create a unique new compressor plugin, KH-COMP1. Here’s
Plugin Boutique Scaler 2 Review

Plugin Boutique Scaler 2 Review

June 1, 2020
How well does Scaler 2 do as both a music theory tool and an audio detection tool in one? Find out
FabFilter Saturn 2 Review

FabFilter Saturn 2 Review

May 27, 2020
One of the most popular plugins for distortion and saturation just got a complete overhaul. Let’s take a look at
Sonarworks Reference 4 Review

Sonarworks Reference 4 Review

May 9, 2020
Is Sonarworks Reference 4 worth the price? Is it difficult to use like some other studio calibration options? Let’s find out
Rob Papen QUAD Review

Rob Papen QUAD Review

May 2, 2020
I took a look at Rob Papen’s QUAD, an expansive synth virtual instrument originally created for Reason Rack that is
Audified VocalMint Saturator Review

Audified VocalMint Saturator Review

April 28, 2020
What uses did I find for a one-knob saturation plugin, and where does it really shine? Find out in my
Kali Audio MV-BT Review

Kali Audio MV-BT Review

April 24, 2020
In my Kali Audio MV-BT review, I’m taking a look at this professional Bluetooth input module. How does it work,
Fuse Audio Labs VCL-515 Review

Fuse Audio Labs VCL-515 Review

April 23, 2020
Does Fuse Audio Labs’ new creation VCL-515 continue their trend of creating awesome vintage hardware emulations with modern features? Find
United Plugins Autoformer Review

United Plugins Autoformer Review

April 3, 2020
Today we’re looking at United Plugins’ Autoformer, a multi-model preamp, compressor, and volume rider in one.
Positive Grid Bias FX 2 Review

Positive Grid Bias FX 2 Review

March 6, 2020
In our Positive Grid BIAS FX 2 Review, we’ll find out if this plugin is really the “New Era of Tone”
United Plugins FirePresser Review

United Plugins FirePresser Review

February 28, 2020
What do four legendary compressors chained together and blended at will sound like? Find out in our review of FireSonic’s
Fuse Audio Labs VPRE-2C Review

Fuse Audio Labs VPRE-2C Review

February 12, 2020
Today we’ll be checking out the newest plugin from Fuse Audio Labs, VPRE-2C, which is an emulation of a 1950
6 Best Piano Plugins 2020

6 Best Piano Plugins 2020

January 22, 2020
In this best piano plugins roundup, we’ll be weighing the results from five in-depth reviews and crown the champions
SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble Review

SONiVOX Eighty Eight Ensemble Review

January 19, 2020
At the most affordable retail price of the bunch, how will the piano plugin offering from SONiVOX fare in our
Waves Grand Rhapsody Piano Review

Waves Grand Rhapsody Piano Review

January 17, 2020
Next up in our best virtual piano review roundup is Waves Grand Rhapsody Piano. Will Grand Rhapsody Piano stand up
Audified ToneSpot Voice Pro Review

Audified ToneSpot Voice Pro Review

January 14, 2020
Today we’re looking at a new plugin that promises to deliver character, saturation, distortion, de-essing, multi-level compression and EQ all
Arturia Piano V2 Review

Arturia Piano V2 Review

January 12, 2020
In this third installment of our piano VST review series is the most expensive offering, Arturia Piano V2. Is it
AIR Mini Grand Review

AIR Mini Grand Review

December 19, 2019
In our second installment in this review series, I take a look at AIR Mini Grand. I’m looking for the
Toontrack EZKeys Grand Piano Review

Toontrack EZKeys Grand Piano Review

December 18, 2019
In the first review in our piano plugin round-up series, we take a look at Toontrack’s EZKeys Grand Piano. Get
AAS Lounge Lizard Session Review

AAS Lounge Lizard Session Review

November 30, 2019
Does Lounge Lizard by Applied Acoustic Systems bring that iconic Rhodes sound to your DAW? Find out in the HomeStudioToday
Get your copy of my FREE eBook, "Start Your Home Studio Today!"
HOOK ME UP
Get The Free eBook
close-image
Scroll to Top