Reviews

Get honest, unbiased reviews of plugins, DAWs, software, gear and instruments for your home studio!

Black Rooster Audio Omnitec-67A Review

Black Rooster Audio Omnitec-67A Review

September 18, 2021
Black Rooster just added another preamp to its arsenal, this time an emulation of the Altec 1567A. How does it
United Plugins Urban Puncher Review

United Plugins Urban Puncher Review

August 25, 2021
Doee the new Urban Puncher live up to the name by adding punch to your drum loops and other sources?
United Plugins Electrum Review

United Plugins Electrum Review

June 26, 2021
What if an amp sim didn’t have a complicated routing matrix, but rather a top-down view with hundreds of presets?
AAS Multiphonics CV-1 Review

AAS Multiphonics CV-1 Review

May 26, 2021
AAS is back at it with a new release, Multiphonics CV-1 modular synthesizer. I took this new virtual instrument for
FabFilter Timeless 3 Review

FabFilter Timeless 3 Review

May 19, 2021
FabFilter just released the 3rd iteration of their Timeless tape delay. I checked out Timeless 3 to see all the new
United Plugins Expanse 3D Review

United Plugins Expanse 3D Review

May 13, 2021
United Plugins and JMG Sound just released a stereo width “psychoacoustic processor” called Expanse 3D. I took it for a
Black Rooster Audio KH-EQ1 Review

Black Rooster Audio KH-EQ1 Review

May 8, 2021
Second in the Koen Heldens signature series, Black Rooster Audio’s new KH-EQ1 is a 5-band semi-parametric EQ with some interesting
Fuse Audio Labs Dozer Drive Review

Fuse Audio Labs Dozer Drive Review

April 17, 2021
Fuse Audio Labs has released another plugin for guitar, their new Dozer Drive, a blendable version of a Tube Screamer
Empirical Labs Arousor Review

Empirical Labs Arousor Review

April 10, 2021
Empirical Labs just released V3 of the Arousor, the plugin version of their Distressor. I was excited to try it
Audified AmpLion 2 Rock Essentials Review

Audified AmpLion 2 Rock Essentials Review

March 25, 2021
Audified’s AmpLion has been a mainstay budget amp sim for years, and just got a refresh. I ran Amplion 2 Rock
United Plugins QuickBass Review

United Plugins QuickBass Review

March 13, 2021
United Plugins just released QuickBass, the second in their series of quick mix plugins, and I took it for a
United Plugins Orbitron Review

United Plugins Orbitron Review

February 23, 2021
Boasting four modulators with twelve selectable effects and multi-function oscillator, how does United Plugins’ Orbitron fare? Find out in my
Black Rooster Audio RO-140 Review

Black Rooster Audio RO-140 Review

January 29, 2021
Black Rooster Audio’s new RO-140 is a late 50s vintage plate reverb emulation with six different material options and a
Aston Element Review

Aston Element Review

January 16, 2021
I just unboxed my Aston Element and checked out all the goodies. But how does it sound? In this review,
Fuse Audio Labs VPRE-31A Review

Fuse Audio Labs VPRE-31A Review

January 3, 2021
I took a look at the newest in Fuse Audio Labs’ vintage hardware recreations, VPRE-31A, which reimagines the ultra-rare
8 Best Drum Plugins 2021

8 Best Drum Plugins 2021

December 26, 2020
After nearly a month of reviews, I’m crowning the winners in my best drum plugins roundup. Which plugin should you
6 Best Piano Plugins 2021

6 Best Piano Plugins 2021

December 20, 2020
In this best piano plugins roundup, we’ll be weighing the results from five in-depth reviews and crown the champions
MeldaProduction MDrumReplacer Review

MeldaProduction MDrumReplacer Review

December 17, 2020
Drums recorded too hot? Trying to pull a complicated drum cadence from a sample? MDrumReplacer is MeldaProductions’ answer to this
Linda RockStack Review

Linda RockStack Review

December 13, 2020
Linda RockStack is an amp sim with three completely unique amp models, two effects, and two blendable cab impulses. Let’s
United Plugins DIFIX Review

United Plugins DIFIX Review

December 12, 2020
United Plugins’ new DIFIX promises to fix the sound of the Hi-Z inputs on a budget interface. Does it live
UJAM STRIIIINGS Review

UJAM STRIIIINGS Review

December 11, 2020
What happens if you take the Hans Zimmer string sample library and pair it with an easy-to-use plugin with tons
United Plugins FireCharger Review

United Plugins FireCharger Review

November 16, 2020
I checked out United Plugins’ new FireCharger excitation and spectral dynamics plugin for adding saturation and helping tracks cut through
Fuse Audio Labs Flywheel Review

Fuse Audio Labs Flywheel Review

November 2, 2020
Fuse Audio Labs just released Flywheel, their reel-to-reel tape emulator How will Fuse’s newest offering stack up against the competition?
Wavesfactory Echo Cat Review

Wavesfactory Echo Cat Review

October 26, 2020
In my Wavesfactory Echo Cat Review, we’ll see how it compares to the original Watkins Copicat it emulates, and decide
MeldaProduction MDrummer Review

MeldaProduction MDrummer Review

October 22, 2020
Nearing the end of my virtual drummer review series, we come to MeldaProduction’s MDrummer. How will it compare to the
iZotope Neoverb Review

iZotope Neoverb Review

October 11, 2020
How can the power of iZotope’s AI help you dial in the perfect reverb? Let’s check it out in my
United Plugins Transmutator Review

United Plugins Transmutator Review

September 13, 2020
A departure from United Plugins’ normal lineup of hardware emulations, Transmutator is a cross-fading plugin with a modern look and
Audified VocalMint Compressor Review

Audified VocalMint Compressor Review

August 27, 2020
Audified has just released the second in their VocalMint series of plugins, VocalMint Compressor. Let’s check it out!
SONiVOX Tony Coleman Drums Review

SONiVOX Tony Coleman Drums Review

August 25, 2020
Finally at the end of my drum plugin review roundup, today we’re exploring SONiVOX’s Tony Coleman Drums. What’s good and
AIR Strike 2 Review

AIR Strike 2 Review

August 20, 2020
Continuing my drum plugin review series, today I’m checking out AIR Strike 2. With 19 kits and lots of bundled MIDI, how
FXpansion BFD3 Review

FXpansion BFD3 Review

August 18, 2020
Today in the next installment of my drum plugin roundup I’m looking at FXpansion’s BFD3. How does it compare? Find
IK Multimedia MODO DRUM Review

IK Multimedia MODO DRUM Review

August 16, 2020
Best known for their AmpliTube guitar amp and effects sims, how will IK Multimedia’s drum plugin stack up against the
Steven Slate Drums 5.5 Review

Steven Slate Drums 5.5 Review

August 13, 2020
Next in my drum review series is Steven Slate Drums 5.5, which promises to have lots of drums, cymbals, MIDI grooves,
Toontrack EZDrummer 2 Review

Toontrack EZDrummer 2 Review

August 10, 2020
First up on my search for the best drum virtual instrument is EZDrummer 2. What did I like and what would
United Plugins Quick AG Review

United Plugins Quick AG Review

August 8, 2020
United Plugins has just released Quick AG, an all-in-one acoustic instrument mixing plugin. Today I’ll decide if it’s a good
MeldaProduction MSuperLooper Review

MeldaProduction MSuperLooper Review

August 5, 2020
Today I’m checking out MSuperLooper, the newest plugin from MeldaProduction. How does this looper plugin stack up against the others?
XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder Review

XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder Review

July 10, 2020
I checked out the new XILS-lab X-201 Vocoder, an emulation of the classic Sennheiser VSM-201. Let’s find out more about
Loopcloud Review

Loopcloud Review

July 5, 2020
I took an in-depth look at Loopcloud, a desktop/web sample browser and DAW plugin suite designed to help producers
MeldaProduction MSoundFactory Review

MeldaProduction MSoundFactory Review

July 1, 2020
Today I’m looking at MSoundFactory by MeldaProduction, a synth and sampler suite that now includes the free Monastery Grand sample
Audified Sphene Pro Review

Audified Sphene Pro Review

June 28, 2020
Audified’s newest addition, Sphene Pro, is a high-gain bass amp sim and distortion pedal. Let’s check it out!
Youlean Loudness Meter Review

Youlean Loudness Meter Review

June 26, 2020
Today we’re getting loud with Youlean Loudness Meter. Let’s review the features of the Free and Pro versions and help
Fuse Audio Labs F-59 Review

Fuse Audio Labs F-59 Review

June 19, 2020
I spent a week playing with Fuse Audio Labs’ F-59 Fender Bassman amp sim. Did Fuse Audio Labs hit another
Fuse Audio Labs VPB Bundle Review

Fuse Audio Labs VPB Bundle Review

June 19, 2020
Fuse Audio Labs has released VPB Bundle, their Virtual Pedal Board plugin, featuring five throwback stomp box emulations. Let’s check
Black Rooster Audio KH-COMP1 Review

Black Rooster Audio KH-COMP1 Review

June 10, 2020
Black Rooster Audio has partnered with multi-platinum mixing engineer Koen Heldens to create a unique new compressor plugin, KH-COMP1. Here’s
Plugin Boutique Scaler 2 Review

Plugin Boutique Scaler 2 Review

June 1, 2020
How well does Scaler 2 do as both a music theory tool and an audio detection tool in one? Find out
FabFilter Saturn 2 Review

FabFilter Saturn 2 Review

May 27, 2020
One of the most popular plugins for distortion and saturation just got a complete overhaul. Let’s take a look at
Sonarworks Reference 4 Review

Sonarworks Reference 4 Review

May 9, 2020
Is Sonarworks Reference 4 worth the price? Is it difficult to use like some other studio calibration options? Let’s find out
Rob Papen QUAD Review

Rob Papen QUAD Review

May 2, 2020
I took a look at Rob Papen’s QUAD, an expansive synth virtual instrument originally created for Reason Rack that is
Audified VocalMint Saturator Review

Audified VocalMint Saturator Review

April 28, 2020
What uses did I find for a one-knob saturation plugin, and where does it really shine? Find out in my
Kali Audio MV-BT Review

Kali Audio MV-BT Review

April 24, 2020
In my Kali Audio MV-BT review, I’m taking a look at this professional Bluetooth input module. How does it work,
WANT TO START A HOME STUDIO TODAY?
TAKE THE FREE COURSE
close-image
Scroll to Top